pretty + cheap

reclaimed wall art

When I decided to redecorate my room back in September, I didn’t realize how expensive my project was going to be. Even small items, like picture frames and photo prints, ate up an unexpected portion of my budget– but then I decided to get crafty. I found these black picture frames at Target in the back to school section. They were sold empty, two to a package. Cheap a.k.a. not super sturdy or durable frames, but they were on clearance, and I paid less than five dollars for two packages of frames.

When I got home, I searched through magazines and other scrap material that I had scattered around my room. For the top frame, I used a Bumble & Bumble shopping bag from my last trip to the hair salon. I’m minorly obsessed with these stylish black and white shopping bags, so much so, that I kept the bag because I thought it was too pretty to throw away. For the bottom two frames, I used magazine cut outs. I used a collage-type image for the middle frame from Portland Monthly magazine, and a photo from a fashion spread in Nylon magazine for the bottom frame. Aside from the actual frames, which were dirt cheap, all of the other materials I used for this project had been previously used. Talk about good for your wallet and the environment.

Filed under: Decor, Home, , , , , , , ,

8 Responses

  1. southern daze says:

    What a clever idea!!

  2. Paige says:

    Hi Katie,

    Great ideas here, and I have a question for you. Is there a way to reach you other than an open post? I looked for an email address but don’t see one.

    I’d give you my address here but would rather not (I’ll explain later).

  3. copperseal says:

    a tight budget always gets my creative juices flowing!

  4. Katie says:

    Paige, you can reach me at luckystar437@hotmail.com.

    Thanks,
    Katie

  5. Leah says:

    Awewsome! That looks great, something I would love to do for my bathroom. No Targets here, but I am going to keep my eye open for cheap frames.

  6. Biba says:

    I so agree with you – it looks great! I’ve recently framed a cool magazine advert which made a perfect cheap picture and i love it. Great blog 🙂

  7. Rachel says:

    You’re so clever! I love how this looks.

  8. dolcechic says:

    Great idea! Bumble and Bumble is my personal fav!

Leave a Reply

Twitter

