pretty + cheap

you’re so vain, you probably think this post is about you

Picture 016_2

My boyfriend moved into a new appartment recently, so the fine art of apartment decorating has been on my mind a lot lately. As usual, I’m reminded of how much I can’t wait to move into my own place again (I’m one of those return-to-home-after-college casualties), but such is life when you’d rather crash at your parent’s house than default on your student loans. At least my room is an 8′ x 12′ place of solace. The best place in the whole room? My vanity!

Ladies: do not underestimate the power of a vanity in transforming a room from a space into a santuary. I think a huge part of why I love my vanity so much is that the entire project cost less than 100 dollars. I took the desk I used to use when I was in high school and covered the top of it with Martha Stewart craft paper ($4). I added a mirror from Fred Meyer ($20), a magnifying mirror from Ikea ($10), and then gave the vanity a shabby chic look with knobs and a stool from Target ($10, $37).  Craigslist, Goodwill, flea markets and garage sales are also great places to find one-of-a-kind accessories for a vanity.

Filed under: Decor, Home, , , , , , , ,

5 Responses

  1. Sherin says:

    Wow, very creative with yours. I just bought an actual dressing table. But mines really messy at the moment. But I still love it.

  2. Fab post title!
    Love that vanity!

    xoxox,
    CC

  3. holly says:

    i love this, especially how neat all the products are.

  4. Nicole Marie says:

    thank you thank you!! i’ve been looking for a cute vanity forever but you made me realize i can just find a cute little desk and add the mirror ! ahh thank you!

  5. Joanna says:

    The vanity looks great! You’re so right. Every girl needs a vanity. I have a makeshift one that also acts as a writing desk. But most of the time I just drape clothes over it!

Leave a comment